New Year, New Blog?

Hello friends!

Do I ever post things? Nah. Do I wish I posted stuff on a regular basis? Heck yes!

I’m going to say this but I’m really not putting any pressure on myself: I want to post more often! and not just about books! (sorry anyone who reads this blog for books!) I’m writing it down and let it henceforth be known as my goal: To at least post something, like the following, once a month! Books, music, life, pictures, who knows? I already missed January and February but there’s lots of changes happening in my life right now and I’m going to embrace it! March is my month!

March

Click through to read about Β a couple things I’m been into lately Β (plus all the books I’ve read since I last posted! Wowie!)

Christine and the Queens

Guys!! I’ve been obsessed with Christine for a looong time and been trying to figure out what to write about it. I work in the music industry and music is reeeeallly important to me so I don’t know why I haven’t tried to post anything about it before! I guess I’ve been in a music rut. But Christine and the Queens has pulled me back into being excited about music! Just look at her style!!
Christine and the Queens
It makes me want to go out and buy a suit and loafers! I’ve been a Francophile for a long time as well, so I feel like this just gets me! Please go listen to the album or, more importantly, watch this video and revel in everything!


The dance moves! The fashion! The music! The french! Ah! And speaking of new music obsessions brings me to:

Oh Wonder

Since I’ve been listening to Christine about non-stop for a year, I’ve needed something fresh recently. It’s Oh Wonder!Β I love the way their voices sound together! They also have a cool look and feel to their music videos that I really appreciate.

Atlanta

I just visited Atlanta for a few days! A full post will be coming soon!

ATL

Books

That brings me to books…..
Oh geez guys, I haven’t posted in so long that there’s sooo many books.

Here’s the end of 2015:
American Gods by Neil Gaiman
The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
Heap House by Edward Carey
The Book of Lost Things by John Connelly
The Midnight Palace by Carlos Ruiz Zafon
The Girl Who Played With Fire by Stieg Larsson
uh whatt?? Crazy story, that is totally different from The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo but also worth reading for it’s own sake. Could not put down.
Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett
Hollow City by Ransom Riggs
The Grownup by Gillian Flynn

And here’s what I’ve read so far in 2016!
Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman by Haruki Murakami
The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson
The Watcher in the Shadows by Carlos Ruiz Zafon
Probably my favorite of the Mist series.
Jamaica Inn by Daphne du Maurier
I really enjoyed Rebecca and I thought I would enjoy some more of du Maurier’s writing and I was right!
The Buried Giant by Kazuo Ishiguro
The Club Dumas by Arturo Perez Reverte
Very interested to see the movie based on this!
Freedom by Jonathan Franzen
Alias Grace by Margaret Atwood
The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield
Loved this, super twist comin’ atcha!
Dear Diary by Lesley Arfin
The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova
Kind of reminded me of the All Souls Trilogy? But without any of the romance (which I could easily do without!) Very very good historical feel to this gothic book.
The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane by Katharine Howe
Okay, if The Historian kind of reminded me of the All Souls Trilogy then this definitely did! Like the less cheesy version – it’s got all the components (alchemy, witches, New England magical house).
Black Swan Green by David Mitchell

Leave a Reply

