June Reads 2015

Yup, took too long to post May Reads… oops! But June saw the end of the two series I’ve been reading, along with some nice vacation reads! Yay!

IMG_0686

The Prisoner of Heaven by Carlos Ruiz Zafon
One sentence summary: Picking up where The Shadow of the Wind left off, as Fermin’s wedding approaches, Daniel finds out more about his past.
I finally got my resolution to The Angel’s Game!! I was doubtful about it because this book is about Daniel and not David but the majority of the book is actually a flashback to Fermin’s past, which involves David. It still leaves things a little open-ended but I got enough closure to where, I can use my imagination to decide for myself. This book is very short, but it really only serves as a bow on a really pair of books, tying them together and ending in final way.
4.5 stars

The Book of Life by Deborah Harkness
One sentence summary: The third and final book in the All Souls Trilogy, Diana and Matthew’s story is finally resolved.
I’m now free of this darn trilogy! I was pretty happy with this ending. We get back to our normal Diana, there’s not too much horrible romantic parts, and we get a satisfying is albeit, slightly underwhelming ending to story. There’s a million characters in this book, pulling from all the people we’ve heard from before so I would suggest reading it not too long after finishing the other ones.
5 stars

Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng
One sentence summary: When Lydia dies, the rest of her family comes to terms with what happened and the true each of them played in her life.
I picked this up at the airport on your way out because it was on my to-read list. It was okay, but it didn’t seem to anywhere really and you could tell from the beginning that their supposedly ideal marriage and family life wasn’t all it cracked up to be.
3 stars

Bones Never Lie by Kathy Reichs (and the novella Swamp Bones)
One sentence summary: Brennen faces an old foe when matching evidence in found linking murders in Vermont and North Carolina.
Being a huge fan of Bones, when I saw this book at the airport on the way home, I knew I had to pick it up. The books are so different from the show! I can sort of see how they started out the same but I’m pretty sure Fox has ruined the show (oh, don’t get me started on my Bones rant! That could be a whole other blog post….) I much preferred the Temperance Brennan character in the book. She’s smart and sassy, instead of awkward and self-inflating. She actually kind of reminded me of Dr. Reid from Criminal Minds. I guessed the culprit pretty early on in the book but there were enough hang-ups and uncertainties that kept it fun to read. I flew through it (I appreciate a book with short chapters) and enjoyed the extra bonus of the novella! I liked that a little bit less but all-in-all, it was a quick, light read and  I think Tempe Brennen will accompanying me on my next beach trip!
4 stars

Leave a Reply

