Foods Class Chocolate Chip Cookies

IMG_0210

This recipe comes from, believe it or not, my Home Economics class in high school. We called it Foods. I took Foods my first semester of high school and besides giving me the best recipe I’ve ever found for chocolate chip cookies, it was really a small capsule of how my whole high school career would shape up. So maybe for me, these are not just moist, chocolatey and delicious but also soaked with nostalgia!

Alright, here’s the secret. These cookies have a package of dry vanilla pudding in them. Might sound weird but trust me, they make these so good. The only downside is that pudding mix contains gelatin, therefore making these cookies technically not vegetarian (gross, I know, but it’s so worth it.) So thank you, to the my Foods teacher (yes, who’s name I can’t remember) and the office aide she got this recipe from. It’s mine now.

Without further ado,

Foods Class Chocolate Chip Cookies

2 1/4 cups Flour
1 tsp Baking soda
1/2 tsp Salt

1 cup margarine or butter
3/4 cup white sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar
2 eggs
1 package instant Vanilla pudding mix
1 tsp vanilla

1 package chocolate chips

INGREDIENTS

Set your oven to 350˚

Combine the flour, baking soda, and salt in a bowl and set aside.

Cream the butter and sugars together. (Lazy note! If you didn’t set out the butter, like I always forget to do, then you can put it in the microwave for about 30 seconds since you’re using 2 whole sticks of cold butter. I don’t recommend this for a small amount of butter because you don’t want it to melt, you just want it to get soft. So keep an eye on it in the micro and take it out as soon as you see it start to glisten/melt)

Add the pudding mix to the butter and sugar, then the eggs and vanilla.

Slowly and in small batches, add the dry ingredients to your wets. This is a really thick dough so I add the flour in small amounts and when it gets too stiff to stir with a fork (my utensil of choice) then I usually use my hands ( just make sure they’re clean!)

After your dough has come together, add the chocolate chips.

DOUGH

Drop about a tablespoon sized globs on a baking tray and bake for 10-12 min until they’re just getting golden around the edges. They may still be a little gooey to the touch even though the edges are done so let them set for a few minutes before moving them off the tray. I promise they are done!

COOKIENDOUGH

Enjoy with a nice glass of milk or as an ice cream sandwich!!

MILKNCOOKIES

Leave a Reply

